Layne Flack Is Chosen to Be the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame Inductee

Layne Flack is a poker legend who died in 2021. He was recently chosen to be the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame (HOF) inductee in last Sunday afternoon's World Series of Poker (WSOP) Hall of Fame bounty event.

Flack, a skilled poker player who had "Back-to-Back" victories, defeated nine talented nominees who also deserved the honor. They include Matt Savage, Bertrand "ElkY" Grospellier, Josh Arieh, Mike Matusow, Kathy Liebert, Norman Chad & Lon McEachern, Isai Scheinberg, Brian Rast, and Michael Mizrachi.

The Inductee's Voting Process

Rast was the only eligible nominee to be among the first contenders for the first time. He said that he believed he deserved the honor just like other players and won't give up his dream to be inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame in the future. But, only one nominee has been inducted each year since 2020.

The induction committee chose industry personnel or two players annually in the past. Eli Elezra won his fifth WSOP bracelet in the summer and was selected last year to join the Poker Hall of Fame.

The selection process started in June as poker enthusiasts nominated their favorite players. Then, the top 10 nominees with the highest votes would be taken to the 30 living Poker Hall of Famers to choose a winner.

More About Layne Flack

Flack is the 61st Poker Hall of Fame member and joins other poker legends, including Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, and Doyle Brunson. He died suddenly in July 2021 at the age of 52, leaving a great legacy as a friend, poker player, and father. Also, he was among the most entertaining and lively players at any final table besides being a skilled professional player.

The poker legend won his final and sixth WSOP bracelet in the 2018 $1,500 Pot-Limit Omaha event. Also, he won the World Poker Tour (WPT) in his career. The Hendon Mob indicates that he made more than $5 million in live poker tournament cashes.

Flack was successful on the field and was many people's favorite in televised events as he had a thrilling playing style. Matt Savage, a 2022 Poker HOF nominee, was his close friend. He stated that he would wait until next year to get an opportunity to be an inductee even though he was disappointed after losing in this year's vote.

Savage added that Flack was the best player in the early 2000s as Ivey, Negreanu, and Hellmuth couldn't match his prowess. He informed PokerNews reporters that he will forever recall the poker legend's wittiness while playing as he avoided taking a bad beat out on other players or dealers.

Savage was WPT's Executive Tour Director for many years, and he is a notable missing figure on the felt in poker's history. He got nominated seven times in the last eight years and is still hoping to be a Poker Hall of Famer.

Voters might have to make some tough decisions soon after players start being eligible when they reach 40 years. Phil Galfond, Tom Dwan, Jason Koon, Scott Seiver, and Vanessa Selbst are among the talented players who are headlining a long list of potential nominees that might be considered from 2025 to 2027.


A sports enthusiast, Ryan helps cover sports betting news from around the country, highlighting some of the more interesting events going on in the USA.