Talal “raidalot” Shakerchi Wins $100,029 in the $2,023 NLHE 8-Max New Year Special Tournament

Talal "raidalot" Shakerchi ushered in 2023 in style by winning $100,029 in the $2,023 NLHE 8-Max New Year Special tournament at PokerStars. It was one of the three New Year Specials that the poker operator held on January 1, 2023, and it attracted popular high-stakes players.

The Final Table's Results

  1. Talal "raidalot" Shakerchi from the United Kingdom-$100,029
  2. Ac-King00 from Austria-$74,944
  3. gettingpwned from Bulgaria-$56,149
  4. Christian "WATnlos" Rudolph from Austria-$42,068
  5. tzuzteutezu from Austria-$31,518
  6. Julian "jutrack" Track from Germany-$23,614
  7. Forest_PL from Poland-$17,692
  8. Benjamin "Spraggy" Spragg from the United Kingdom-$13,255
  9. Benjamin "BC1989RF" Chalot from Hungary-$10,976

Statistics state that 272 entrants made $2,023 buy-ins. They formed a $524,054 prize pool that exceeded the $400,000 guarantee. But, "Wildace_hun" busted the money bubble and left the tournament in 35th place.

Other players who made returns from their investments included Jans "Gragtekkel" Arends, Bruno "great dant" Volkmann, Alexandros "Pwndidi" Theologis, and Ramiro "ramastar88" Petrone. Each player at the final table won at least $10,976. Benjamin Chalot finished ninth and Benjamin Spragg's run ended in eighth place despite getting a $109 satellite.

Forest_PL finished seventh and Julian Track, the 2013 European Poker Tour (EPT) Prague Main Event winner, followed him in sixth place. His departure left three Austrians at the table.

Tzuzteutezu exited the tournament in fifth place and Christian Rudolph followed him in the fourth position with $42,068. gettingpwned lost all his chips and finished third hence setting up a heads-up battle between Ac-King00 and Shakerchi who beat his opponent and sent him home as a runner-up with $74,944.

"Scoops 2022" Gets a Big New Year Score

The $202.30 New Year Special buy-in edition attracted 5,362 entrants who surpassed its $1 million guarantee and created a $1,009,074 prize pool. The top two players in the event; "Eset93" and "Scoops 2022" bagged over $100,000 each.

The Final Table's Results

  1. Scoops 2022 from Switzerland-$143,479
  2. Eset93 from Kazakhstan-$102,272
  3. Mabreu16 from Brazil-$72,903
  4. GUNDIAS from Brazil-$51,968
  5. BBRS999 from Croatia-$37,044
  6. wemetagain from Mexico-$26,406
  7. Denvlas from Montenegro-$18,823
  8. Alex "AlexGelinski" Gelinski from Brazil-$13,418
  9. huegelking from Germany-$9,565

Eset93 and Scoops 2022 didn't strike a deal despite having an almost $41,000 variation in the first and second-place prizes. So, Eset93 took home $102,272 after finishing second while Scoops 2022 bagged $143,479.

oskarbilstad Wins $33,073 in the $20.23 NLHE New Year Special Event

The $20.23 buy-in New Year Special tournament attracted 21,602 players at PokerStars and had a $400,000 guarantee. But, its last four finalists struck a deal as each of them re-entered the tournament once.

The Final Table's Results

  1. oskarbilstad from Norway-$33,073
  2. attitudeeeee from Hungary-$24,138
  3. Gabriel Tung from Brazil-$25,584
  4. ch_rag2 from Chile-$23,517
  5. Pavel_Frants from Armenia-$10,626
  6. p0tK.O.mjt€d from Malta-$7,574
  7. KasperliTheater from Switzerland-$5,399
  8. 1ll1maister from Finland-$3,849
  9. fijis aek from Greece-$2,743

Each of the top four players won at least $23,517. oskarbilstad beat all his opponents and bagged the $33,073 top prize.

The Fast-Approaching New Year Series Main Events

Three No-Limit Hold'em Main Events will kick off on January 15 at 6:30 p.m. GMT. The Pot-Limit Omaha Main Event will start later at 7:05 p.m. No-Limit Hold'em Main Events will have $109, $5,200, and $1,050 buy-ins.

Their guaranteed prize pools will be $1,000,000, $1,500,000, and $1,250,000 respectively. But, the $215 buy-in Pot-Limit Omaha Main Event will have a $200,000 guarantee.


A sports enthusiast, Ryan helps cover sports betting news from around the country, highlighting some of the more interesting events going on in the USA.