The American Gaming Association Has Revealed the 2022 Hall of Fame Class

The American Gaming Association (AGA) announced this week the three likely Gaming Hall of Fame inductees. They include Michael Rumbolz, Virginia McDowell, and Gavin Isaacs. The association picks the class annually.

It stated that McDowell (former CEO and President of Isle of Capri Casinos), Rumbolz (former Everi Holdings CEO), and Isaacs (former CEO and President of Scientific Games) have qualified for its Gaming Hall of Fame.

The gaming association's Gaming Hall of Fame has identified and awarded many business leaders and pioneers since 1989. They played a vital role in developing the United States gaming industry.

The AGA said that the industry is worth over $261 billion and it has created 1.8 million job vacancies nationwide. Bill Miller, AGA's CEO and President stated that Rumbolz, McDowell, and Issacs have contributed in different ways to growing the gaming sector. They include leading manufacturing and casino operations in different parts of the country serving in advisory and board roles.

The trio has greatly influenced the global and local gaming industry. The executive added that the association will formally induct Rumbolz, McDowell, and Issacs into the Gaming Hall of Fame in Las Vegas in October at the Global Gaming Expo (GE2).

The Trio's Background Checks

The AGA chooses its Gaming Hall of Fame class by selecting a committee that Jim Allen, Hard Rock International's CEO and Chairman, heads. The 2022 class comprises three members with a combined gaming experience of over 100 years holding various executive positions in the country's gaming industry.

Isaacs managed Scientific Games, now called Light & Wonder during its expansion and purchase of Bally Technologies. He worked as the gaming company's CEO and President. Also, he sat on its board between 2014 and 2018.

The executive served as SHFL Entertainment's CEO and Bally Technologies' Executive VP before joining Scientific. Isaacs currently works as Games Global's chairman.

McDowell served as the only female CEO and President of a leading American gaming operator when Isle of Capri Casinos appointed her in 2007. She later retired in 2016. Casino Journal Magazine named her "Gaming Executive of the Year" in 2009.

She earlier served as Trump Entertainment Resorts' Chief Information Officer (CIO). McDowell co-founded Global Gaming Women. It is a non-profit making organization that inspires, influences, and helps the development of female players.

McDowell is currently on the Entain board. Rumbolz has an over four-decade career during which he held different executive positions.

He worked in each aspect of the local gaming industry. Rumbolz has served as Everi Holdings' CEO since 2016 and is its current executive chairman.

Rumbolz served as Cash Systems Inc.'s, Casino Data Systems, and Anchor Gaming's CEO before joining Everi. Also, he has worked as Hard Rock International's board member since 2008 and VICI Properties' director.

VICI Properties is Caesars Entertainment's real estate investment trust. Rumbolz served as Nevada's chief deputy attorney general and was the Nevada Gaming Control Board's chairman in the mid-1980s.

The Gaming Association's Hall Class

The AGA normally nominated three candidates to join the annual Gaming Hall of Fame. Former gaming executives who are the hall's members include Elaine and Steve Wynn, Donald Trump, Sheldon Adelson, Benny, and Jack Binion, and Kirk Kerkorian. But, Wayne Newton, Celine Dion, Don King, Harry Reid, Wolfgang Puck, Emeril Lagasse, and David Copperfield are other notable inductees who haven't held executive positions in the gaming industry.


A sports enthusiast, Ryan helps cover sports betting news from around the country, highlighting some of the more interesting events going on in the USA.